The cheapest paid plans on the big website builders cost between £2.99 and £12 a month in the UK when you pay a year or more upfront, and the top business plans reach £74.99 to £79 a month. Four of the six builders below have a free plan, and the other two offer a 14-day trial. Every price on this page was taken from the builder’s own pricing page on 4 October 2026, and where a builder only shows US dollars to UK visitors, we say so rather than guess the conversion.
How much does Wix cost per month in the UK?
$17 to $159 a month on yearly billing, as shown on Wix’s plans page (checked 4 October 2026). Visiting from the UK, the page displayed US dollars “for reference only”, said prices are for yearly subscriptions paid in full upfront, and said they do not include tax. Wix shows the final price in your own currency at checkout, so we have not converted these.
- Light, $17 a month: 2 GB of storage, two collaborators, and a free domain for a year. It does not list accepting payments or ecommerce.
- Core, $29 a month: adds payments, basic ecommerce and scheduling.
- Business, $39, and Business Elite, $159: more storage, fuller ecommerce and more collaborators.
The main thing the cheapest plan leaves out is selling. If you need to take bookings or payments on the site, Core is the realistic starting point on Wix.
How much does Squarespace cost per month in the UK?
£12 to £79 a month paying annually, or £16 to £89 paying month to month, on Squarespace’s pricing page (checked 4 October 2026). The page shows pounds for UK visitors. It does not say whether VAT is included.
- Basic: £12 a month annually (£144 a year), £16 monthly.
- Core: £17 a month annually (£204 a year), £24 monthly.
- Plus: £29 a month annually (£348 a year), £36 monthly.
- Advanced: £79 a month annually (£948 a year), £89 monthly.
Basic still lets you sell, but it carries a 2% fee on online store sales that Core removes, limits you to two contributors, and leaves out the professional email from Google Workspace, code injection and discount codes. The free custom domain for a year comes with annual plans only.
How much does a GoDaddy website cost per month?
£7.49 to £74.99 a month billed annually, or £14.99 to £149.99 paying monthly, on GoDaddy’s UK website builder page (checked 4 October 2026). These are the plans for its Airo AI Builder. The page shows pounds but does not say whether VAT is included, and it does not show a renewal price.
- Starter: £7.49 a month annually, £14.99 monthly. One published site, 150 AI credits a month, core analytics.
- Professional: £17.99 a month annually, £36.99 monthly. Ten sites, 300 AI credits, advanced analytics.
- Ultimate: £74.99 a month annually, £149.99 monthly. Fifty sites and 750 AI credits, aimed at online shops and agencies.
On GoDaddy the feature list is similar across all three paid plans, including payments and bookings. The cheap plan mostly limits scale: one site rather than ten, and fewer AI credits for building and changing pages.
How much does Hostinger Website Builder cost?
£2.99 to £7.99 a month, paid upfront for 48 months and excluding VAT, on Hostinger’s UK website builder page (checked 4 October 2026). This is the lowest monthly figure on this page, but read the terms: the page says all plans are paid upfront and the monthly rate is the total divided by the months, and it states that prices are listed without VAT.
- Premium: £2.99 a month, which is £143.52 upfront for 48 months. Renews at £10.99 a month.
- Unlimited: £3.99 a month, £191.52 for 48 months. Renews at £13.99 a month.
- Cloud Startup: £7.99 a month, £383.52 for 48 months. Renews at £20.99 a month.
Premium caps you at three websites, gives five AI credits as a one-off, and offers chatbot support. Ecommerce and priority support are listed from Unlimited upwards.
How much does Webflow cost?
$15 to $25 a month per site billed yearly, on Webflow’s pricing page (checked 4 October 2026). The page states that all prices are in US dollars, per site, with tax added at checkout. It did not show pounds.
- Starter: free, on a webflow.io address, with two static pages.
- Basic: $15 a month. Custom domain and up to 300 static pages, but no CMS.
- Premium: $25 a month. Adds the Webflow CMS, which is what you need for a blog or anything you update regularly.
Webflow is built for designers and gives a lot of control. The cost to watch is that Basic has no CMS, so most business sites end up on Premium.
How much does a Canva website cost?
£0 on Canva’s own address, or £100 a year for Canva Pro if you want to connect a domain you already own, on Canva’s UK pricing page (checked 4 October 2026). Canva Business is £180 a year per person. The page shows pounds and does not say whether VAT is included.
According to Canva’s website builder page (checked 4 October 2026), any Canva user can publish a site free on a my.canva.site address, with up to five live sites on the free plan. You can also buy a domain through Canva. Canva Pro is mainly a design subscription, so the £100 pays for far more than the website. What Canva websites are built for is simple one-page and few-page sites, rather than large sites with a blog and booking system.
Website builder prices compared
| Builder | Free option | Cheapest paid plan | Top listed plan | As shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wix | Free plan | $17/mo (Light) | $159/mo (Business Elite) | USD, yearly, excludes tax |
| Squarespace | 14-day trial | £12/mo (Basic) | £79/mo (Advanced) | GBP, annual, VAT not stated |
| GoDaddy | Free plan | £7.49/mo (Starter) | £74.99/mo (Ultimate) | GBP, annual, VAT not stated |
| Hostinger | 14-day trial | £2.99/mo (Premium) | £7.99/mo (Cloud Startup) | GBP, 48 months upfront, excludes VAT |
| Webflow | Free Starter | $15/mo (Basic) | $25/mo (Premium site plan) | USD, yearly, excludes tax |
| Canva | Free on my.canva.site | £100/yr (Pro) | £180/yr per person (Business) | GBP, yearly, VAT not stated |
Is Wix free? Is Squarespace free? Which builders have a free plan?
- Is Wix free? Yes, there is a free plan. Wix says a Premium plan is what lets you connect your own domain and remove Wix branding.
- Is Squarespace free? No. It offers 14 days free, then a paid plan from £12 a month annually.
- Is GoDaddy Website Builder free? Yes. The free plan gives 50 AI credits a month with no card required. The paid plans are the ones listing a free custom domain.
- Is Hostinger Website Builder free? No. Hostinger’s own FAQ says so, and offers a 14-day trial.
- Is Webflow free? Yes, to start. Starter is free on a webflow.io address with two static pages.
- Is the Canva website builder free? Yes, on a my.canva.site address. Linking a domain you already own needs Canva Pro.
A free plan is a fair way to test an idea. For a business, the usual sticking point is the address: a site on someone else’s subdomain, with their branding, is hard to put on a van or a business card.
What a builder costs over three years, against a £495 build
Monthly prices look small, so it helps to add them up. These are the entry plans above over 36 months, assuming the listed price holds, which is not guaranteed:
| Plan | Three-year cost |
|---|---|
| Hostinger Premium | £143.52 upfront for 48 months, before VAT (£172.22 with 20% VAT) |
| GoDaddy Starter | £269.64 |
| Canva Pro | £300 |
| Squarespace Basic | £432 |
| Webflow Basic | $540 before tax |
| Wix Light | $612 before tax |
| Squarespace Core | £612 |
| GoDaddy Professional | £647.64 |
Our Starter build is £495, one-off. Builders include hosting, and a built site does not, so you add it. Our UK website cost guide puts hosting for a small business site at roughly £60 to £300 a year, which makes a three-year total of about £675 to £1,395. Both routes need a domain after any free first year.
So, in plain cash, an entry builder plan is usually cheaper over three years, and we would rather say that than pretend otherwise. What the builder figure leaves out is your time to learn the tool and write the pages, and the fact that you rent the site: stop paying and it goes offline, and moving it elsewhere usually means rebuilding. A built site is yours, designed for your business and set up to be found. Which matters more depends on how much work the site has to bring in. Our website builder vs web designer guide covers that decision, and agency vs builder vs freelancer adds the freelance option.
How to read builder prices before you buy
- Check the billing term. The headline monthly figure usually assumes a year, or several years, paid upfront.
- Check the renewal price. Hostinger shows it clearly. Where a page does not, ask before committing.
- Check VAT. Some UK pages exclude it, some do not say. A UK business that cannot reclaim VAT pays 20% more than an ex-VAT figure.
- Check the plan you will actually need. Selling, a blog or bookings often push you one plan up from the cheapest.
- Check transaction fees. Squarespace Basic adds 2% to online store sales, which can outweigh the saving on the plan.
If you want a number for your own site rather than a builder’s, try our website cost calculator, which gives a UK or US range and a three-year total.
Tell us what the site needs to do and we will send a fixed price within 24 hours, or tell you honestly if a builder would suit you better.
Get a fixed-price quote
See our packages
Get web & SEO tips that actually move the needle
Short, occasional emails for business owners: what's changing in Google, how to win more enquiries, and the fixes worth your time. No spam, no jargon.